Are you preparing to have a new driver in the house? In Mississippi, a graduated licensing program prepares teens to become safe drivers.
Help keep your child safe by emphasizing the graduated driver’s license rules in your home.
Mississippi teens can obtain a learner’s permit at age 14 with proof of enrollment in driver education courses. The permit only allows driving with a certified driver’s ed instructor in his or her vehicle.
A regular learner’s permit is available for teens ages 15 and up. This age group must provide:
- Proof of enrollment in school
- Social Security card
- Birth certificate
- Application with parent and guardian signatures
With this permit, the teen can drive only when supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.
After practicing with a permit for at least 12 months and turning 16, teens can take the driving test to obtain an intermediate license. This type of license lets the teen drive without supervision but limits the hours he or she may be on the road. The law prohibits driving during the week between 10 a.m. and 6 a.m. On Friday and Saturday nights, the curfew is 11:30 p.m. The teen can drive beyond these hours only when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21.
Teens qualify for a full license after holding an intermediate license for six months. They must provide the Department of Motor Vehicles with a certificate of school attendance form from the past 30 days. Unlike some other states, where license restrictions extend until age 18, Mississippi does not restrict fully licensed drivers after age 16 1/2.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reports that motor vehicle accidents are the most common cause of death for American teens ages 16 to 19. Encouraging your teen to follow the rules of the road can help prevent a serious auto accident.