Things You Need To Know About Workers’ Compensation
If you are injured at work, you may qualify to receive workers’ compensation benefits. At Wood and Carlton, P.C., our lawyers help injured workers obtain the full benefits to which they are legally entitled. To learn more about your rights under Mississippi’s workers’ compensation law and how we can help, call an attorney at 662-841-2003 or contact us online.
Questions We Often Receive Regarding Workers’ Compensation
Q: I was injured at work. How do I obtain Workers’ Compensation benefits?
A: It is important that you report a work-related injury or illness to your supervisor as soon as possible. Your supervisor is the one responsible for submitting a workers’ compensation claim.
Failure to report a work injury within 30 days of its occurrence can result in the denial of benefits. If your claim is accepted, you do not need to do anything else and you will be covered for both wage loss and medical benefits. If your claim is denied or you dispute the amount awarded, you may appeal the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission’s decision.
Q: What are my rights if I am injured at on the job in Mississippi?
A: You have several rights if you injured on the job, but you must exercise them or you may lose them. For example you have the right to select the doctor who treats your injury, but if you agree to go to the employer’s chosen physician you may be stuck if agree to allow him to continue treatment. This is one but example of why it is important contact an experienced Mississippi attorney who can guide you thru the process.
Q: How do I obtain medical care after a work injury, and how much will it cost?
A: After suffering a work injury, you should see a doctor right away. Under Mississippi’s workers’ compensation laws, you can see the doctor of your choice. Once your workers’ compensation claim is accepted, any expenses related to doctor visits, medical procedures, physical therapy, medications and medical equipment are paid directly to the providers by your employer or your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance provider.
Q: How much will my payments be under workers’ compensation?
A: The amount of workers’ compensation benefits you receive each month will depend on whether your injury qualifies as a total or partial disability. Total disability benefits equate to two-thirds your average weekly wage, an amount that cannot exceed the maximum benefit amount determined by the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Commission. If you are designated as having a partial permanent disability, you will receive an amount equal to two-thirds of your average weekly wages for a designated amount of time, depending on your disability.
Q: How long will I receive workers’ compensation benefits?
A: The length of time that you will receive workers’ compensation benefits depends on your injury and whether it is determined to be total or partial, temporary or permanent in nature. The maximum timeframe for which money benefits are paid is 450 weeks or roughly 8.5 years, but you have the right to future medical benefits for your lifetime if you properly exercise this right.
Q: Am I required to allow the Insurance company’s nurse case manager to attend my doctor visits?
A: No. While we do allow some nurse case managers to attend doctor visits with our clients, it is only allowed if they get prior approval and meet certain conditions.
Q: Do I have the right to a second opinion if I disagree with my treating doctor?
A: Not automatically. Normally you will need to hire an attorney to force the insurance company to allow you to get a second opinion.